top of page

My Dad, My Hero


This photo was taken at one of the family weddings in 2011 when Dad and I danced.


Did you ever know that you're my hero And everything I would like to be? I can fly higher than an eagle For you are the wind beneath my wings

It might have appeared to go unnoticed But I've got it all here in my heart I want you to know I know the truth, of course, I know it I would be nothing without you


In case you might not be familiar with these above words, these are some of the lyrics to “Wind Beneath My Wings” sung by Bette Midler. This song has sentimental history for my family. Years after Grandpa Hughes’ passing in 1983, I came upon his funeral service program. I was seven when he passed away and my parents did not take my brother and me to the funeral because they felt we were too young. So, reading through the program as a young adult meant a lot to me. What I found fascinating was that Dad’s two youngest sisters performed “Wind Beneath My Wings” at the funeral. Two years later in 1999, when I had to come up with a song for the father/daughter dance at my wedding, I immediately thought of using this song and I am so glad I did. Even though my marriage didn’t last, at least the memory of that father/daughter dance still lives on in my heart. What made this memory special was that my dad was not much of a dancer, but he’d do anything for his daughter (me). In 2011, “Wind Beneath My Wings” played at two family weddings (coincidentally on my dad’s side), so Dad and I danced to that song. Two years later, he passed away.

Every time I hear this song, I always think of my dad, my hero.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page